Last week we saw it go down to the wire when Griquas hosted the Golden Lions in Kimberley, this week they play again but in Johannesburg.

It is down to the last four in this year Currie Cup competition and the first semi-final is between the Golden Lions and Griquas who ended second and third on the log.

It is going to be a massive clash come Saturday and anyone of these two teams can get into the final.

There was not much that split them last week and there will be even less this week.

Griquas coach Janse Van Rensburg made three changes for the clash against the Golden Lions.

In the backline Meyer replace September at nine and up front Jordaan starts at the back of the scrum with Mxoli starting in the front row.

Griquas have not won the Currie Cup since 1970 and a place in the final will seal a wonderful season for the men from Kimberley.

The Golden Lions had some up and downs this season starting well but lost a few matches before they surprise everyone with the win last week against Griquas.

Golden Lions coach Ivan van Rooyen did not make any changes to the winning side from last week for the semi-final.

We are looking forward to a massive clash between the two sides and hopefully we see another try-fest on Saturday.

Saturday’s clash at Ellis Park is scheduled for 14:00.


Golden Lions: 15 Tyrone Green, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Duncan Matthews, 11 Stean Pienaar, 10 Shaun Reynolds, 9 Ross Cronje (captain), 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Pieter Jansen, 1 Sti Sithole

Replacements: 16 Jan-Henning Campher, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 20 Len Massyn, 21 Dillon Smit, 22 Jan-Louis la Grange, 23 Jamba Ulengo

Griquas: 15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Michal Haznar, 12 Andre Swarts, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 George Whitehead (captain), 9 Christiaan Meyer, 8 Zandre Jordaan, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 AJ Le Roux, 1 Khwezi Mona

Replacements: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Mox Mxoli, 18 Johan Momsen, 19 Neill Jordaan, 20 Chriswill September, 21 Chris Smit, 22 Bjorn Basson, 23 Ruan Kramer