Home Phakisa Pumas v Toyota Cheetahs

    Phakisa Pumas v Toyota Cheetahs



    Both the Pumas and Cheetahs have struggled to get wins under their belt and this weekend in Nelspruit we will see two desperate teams trying to get the win.

    The Cheetahs have loss both their opening matches in the Currie Cup with the Pumas also loosing their opening matches against the Sharks and Western Province.

    Sitting 5th and 6th on the log, the Cheetahs are the only one of the two side still with a realistic chance to make the playoffs but need to start wining matches.

    With a poor performance last week at home against the Lions, coach Fourie decided to give Springbok Frans Steyn the number 10 jumper.

    Steyn will combine with Ruben de Haas this weekend with Tian Schoeman who have been left out for the weekend.

    On the wing Duncan Saal will get his first cap for the Cheetahs replacing Jaer. William Small-Smith will move to the other wing for this weekend.

    With Steyn moving to 10, Mnisi will come in at centre with Dries Swanepoel.

    In the pack Reniel Hugo takes Groenewald place at lock and Marnus van der Merwe will start at hooker.

    Oupa Mohoje makes his return on the bench for the Cheetahs with Rhyno Smith and Chris Massyn.

    Jimmy Stonerhouse has made a few changes to his side with Maqondwana coming in for Landsberg. Devon Williams will start again at ten with Taljaard back on the wing with Obi moving to the left side.

    It is never easy in Nelspruit and we expect the Cheetahs to get a proper test from the Pumas.

    Predictions: Cheetahs by 11


    Phakisa Pumas: 15 Tapiwa Mafura, 14 Etienne Taljaard, 13 Erich Cronje, 12 Ali Mgijima, 11 Luther Obi, 10 Devon Williams, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Willie Engelbrecht, 7 Phumzile Maqondwana, 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Pieter Jansen van Vuren (captain), 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Ignatius Prinsloo, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Morgan Naude.

    Replacements: 16 AJ le Roux, 17 Dewald Maritz, 18 Wikus Groenewald, 19 Darrien Landsberg, 20 Ewart Potgieter, 21 Ginter Smuts, 22 Tiaan Botes, 23 Wayne van der Bank.

    Cheetahs – 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Duncan Saal 13 Dries Swanepoel 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 William Small-Smith, 10 Frans Steyn, 9 Ruben de Haas, 8 Jeandre Rudolph, 7 Aidon Davis, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Kutha Mchunu, 2 Marnus van der Merwe, 1 Boan Venter.

    Replacements: 16 Louis van der Westhuizen, 17 Cameron Dawson, 18 Erich de Jager, 19 Oupa Mohoje, 20 Chris Massyn, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Reinhardt Fortuin, 23 Rhyno Smith.



    Date Time League Season Full Time
    Dec 18, 2020 7:00 pm Carling Currie Cup 2020-2021 2020-2021 Carling Currie Cup 90'