Home Xerox Lions v Cell C Sharks

    Xerox Lions v Cell C Sharks



    The Lions, fresh of two great wins against Province and the Cheetahs will face the Sharks on Saturday in Johannesburg.

    It has been a good start for the Lions in the Currie after they had to deal with a few cancelled matches during Super Rugby Unlocked.

    Sitting nicely in 4th position, the Lions have a great change to move to second position if they can beat the Sharks on Saturday.

    With the Bulls game cancelled the Sharks will know that they can close the gab between them and the Bulls who are seven points ahead.

    Lions coach, Van Rooyen has named an unchanged starting XV for the Sharks match. There is however some injury concerns for Van Rooyen with Sti Sithole and Vincent Tshituka who have been included in brackets.

    Both Odendaal and Ulengo have been included on the bench and will make their presence felt later in the game.

    The Sharks have kept the same backline that beat the Bulls last weekend but coach Sean Everitt has made some changes to his pack.

    Van Vuuren will start again at hooker with Dan Jooste left out of the match day squad for this weekend. Fez Mbatha will give cover on the bench.

    With Thomas du Toit being ruled out for this weekend macth with a rib injury, Kumbirai will get a start.

    In the second row we see JJ van der Mescht and Fortuin for this weekend, with Fortuin making his debut for the Sharks.

    James Venter is also back in the mix and will come on later in the match.

    This is going to be a massive match and one not to miss this weekend.

    Prediction: Sharks by 7


    Lions: 15 Tiaan Swanepoel, 14 Stean Pienaar, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies (c), 9 André Warner, 8 Len Massyn, 7 Vincent Tshituka/Wilhelm van der Sluys, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Willem Alberts, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Sti Sithole/Dylan Smith.

    Replacements: 16 Jan-Henning Campher, 17 Ruan Dreyer, 18 Wiehahn Herbst, 19 Reinhard Nothnagel, 20 Roelof Smit, 21 Morné van den Berg, 22 Burger Odendaal, 23 Jamba Ulengo, 24 Carlu Sadie, 25 Manuel Rass.

    Sharks: 15 Manie Libbok, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am (c), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Aston Fortuin, 4 JJ van der Mescht, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ox Nche.


    Date Time League Season Full Time
    Dec 19, 2020 7:00 pm Carling Currie Cup 2020-2021 2020-2021 Carling Currie Cup 90'