Home All Blacks Forster name his first All Black squad for Rugby Championship

Forster name his first All Black squad for Rugby Championship


Seven new caps has earned themselves a place in the All Black squad that was announced on Sunday.

Rising stars Will Jordan, Caleb Clarke and Hoskins Sotutu was three of the new faces named in the All Black squad by new coach Ian Foster.

All three players had brilliant years for their franchises in the reduced Super Rugby and Super Rugby Aotearoa. Forster has named a strong 35-man squad for the Rugby Championship.

The other new players that was announced on Sunday is Alex Hodgman, Quinten Strange, Tupou Vaa’i and Cullen Grace.

Sam Cane will captain the team that is made up by 10 Blues, 6 Chiefs, 5 Hurricanes, 3 Highlanders and 11 Crusaders players.

Players who was not considered due to injury is Moli, Scott Barrett and Laumape. Retallick was also not named in the group as he is on a sabbatical in Japan with the Kobe Kobelco Steelers.

All Blacks squad:

Hookers: Asafo Aumua, Dane Coles, Codie Taylor.

Props: Alex Hodgman*, Nepo Laulala, Tyrel Lomax, Joe Moody, Karl Tu’inukuafe, Ofa Tu’ungafasi.

Locks: Quinten Strange*, Patrick Tuipulotu, Tupou Vaa’i*, Samuel Whitelock.

Loose Forwards: Sam Cane (C), Shannon Frizell, Cullen Grace* Akira Ioane, Dalton Papalii, Ardie Savea, Hoskins Sotutu*.

Halfbacks: TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith, Brad Weber.

First Fives: Beauden Barrett, Richie Mo’unga.

Midfield: Braydon Ennor, Jack Goodhue, Rieko Ioane, Anton Lienert-Brown.

Outside Backs: Jordie Barrett, George Bridge, Caleb Clarke*, Will Jordan*, Damian McKenzie, Sevu Reece.