Home DHL Stormers Gelant start at fullback for DHL Stormers

Gelant start at fullback for DHL Stormers


Dobson has named his squad to take on the Emirates Lions this weekend as we see the return of rugby in South Africa in Pretoria.

No less than eight Springboks have been included in his squad for the Vodacom SuperFan Saturday weekend.

The Stormers will play the Lions at 19:00 on Saturday after the opening match between the Vodacom Bulls and Cell C Sharks beforehand.

First name that pops up immediately is that of Springbok Warrick Gelant who will get the number 15 jumper for the match in his first official match for the Stormers since he moved from Pretoria to Cape Town.

There are a few more players in prop Leon Lyons, utility forward Hannes Gouws, flyhalf Tim Swiel, centre Michal Hazner, wing Angelo Davids and fullback Tristan Leyds are all set to earn their first DHL Stormers caps from the extended replacements bench.

Gelant will joing fellow Springboks Willemse, Jantjies, Kolisi, Malherbe, Ntubeni and Kitshoff in the starting XV while Mbonambi will get a run from the bench.

As it will be for all the franchises, Dobson said their are plenty of excitement with the players in getting back onto the field after being sideline with the Pandemic since April.

“It has been a while for everyone, players coaches and our fans are all hungry for rugby, so we cannot wait to get there and take the next step as we build towards the new competition which kicks off next month.

“Everyone has worked very hard to get to this point and while it will be great to see our high-profile players out on the pitch, we are also looking forward to seeing some new faces and seeing how they go against a quality Emirates Lions side,” he said.

DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Leolin Zas, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Nama Xaba, 21 Hannes Gouws, 22 Paul de Wet, 23 Tim Swiel, 24 Michal Hazner, 25 Angelo Davids, 26 Tristan Leyds.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments