Home Japanese Rugby Japan reveal new Rugby League tournament format

Japan reveal new Rugby League tournament format


Japan Rugby has announced a new 25-team tournament scheduled to begin in 2022.

They said in a statement they wanted to ensure a high-quality matches with a easy-to-understand format.

The league will consist in three divisions with yearly promotion/relegation between the divisions.

Mayumi Taniguchi, Chief of the Preparatory Office for New League Incorporation said,“Under the current uncertain circumstances due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we believe that it means so much to take a step toward further growth of Japan rugby.

While we are in an unforeseen and constantly evolving situation, I think that sport can show flexibility to respond to the difficulties and continue to challenge – this is the spirit of rugby.”

25 Teams in the new league:

NEC Green Rockets, NTT Communications ShiningArcs, NTT Docomo Red Hurricanes, Kamaishi Sheawaves RFC, Canon Eagles, Kyushu Electric Power Kyuden Voltex, Kintetsu Liners, Kubota Spears, Kurita Water RFC Water Gush, Kobe Steel Kobelco Steelers, Coca-Cola Red Sparks, Suntory Sungoliath, Shimizu Rugby Football Club Team Blue Sharks, Chugoku Electric Power Red Regulions, Toshiba Brave Lupus, Toyota Verblitz, Toyota Industries Corporation Shuttles, Panasonic Wild Knights, Hino Red Dolphins, Honda HEAT, Mazda Blue Zoomers, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Sagamihara Dynaboars, Munakata Sanix Blues, Yamaha Jubilo, Ricoh Black Rams (in Japanese alphabetical order)

Read the full story HERE


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments