Home All Blacks Match Preview – Australia v All Blacks

Match Preview – Australia v All Blacks


In round 2 of the Tri Nations Championships the Wallabies will take on the All Blacks in Brisbane.

This is a crucial match after they loss the first one last weekend by a record score against the All Blacks. They were nowhere in the test and needs to step up if they do not want the same happening this weekend.

In a major change we see Reece Hodge being named as flyhalf for this clash. It will be only his second time in his career that he will be wearing the number 10 jumper.

He is replacing rookie Lolesio who will be playing off the bench this weekend.

Hunter Paisami will also come in for Simone who has dropped out of the match-day 23. We also see Tom Banks and Tom Wright replace Dane Haylett-Petty and Filipo Daugunu.

There is also two changes in the pack with Rob Simmons comes in for the injured Salakaia-Loto and Lachlan Swinton also coming into the pack.

The All Blacks also made a few changes to their side with Akira Ioane set to make his All Black debut. He is one of four players that will make debut this weekend.

The other players making their debuts for the All Blacks are Asafo Aumua, Cullen Grace and Will Jordan.

Codie Taylor will start at hooker with Scott Barrett that will start in the second row. Ardie Savea will start again at No 8 with Ioane and Cane on the side.

TJ Perenara will start at nine with Weber on the bench. Mo’unga are also rested which means Beauden Barrett will start at ten with his brother moving to fifteen.

Rieko Ioane and Sevu Reece will start on the wings with Laumape getting his chance in the midfield with Anton Lienert-Brown.

Even with all the changes the All Blacks still have a great team to take the field with the Aussies trying to catch up.

This is going to be an interesting battle.


All Blacks: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Sevu Reece, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane (c), 6 Akira Ioane, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe.

Replacements: 16 Asafo Aumua, 17 Alex Hodgman, 18 Tyrel Lomax, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Cullen Grace, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Damian McKenzie, 23 Will Jordan.

Wallabies – 15 Tom Banks, 14 Tom Wright, 13 Jordan Petaia, 12 Hunter Paisami 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Reece Hodge, 9 Nic White, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Lachlan Swinton  5 Matt Philip, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 James Slipper.

Replacements: 16 Folau Fainga’a, 17 Angus Bell, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Ned Hanigan, 20 Liam Wright, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Noah Lolesio, 23 Filipo Daugunu.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments