Home SANZAAR RUGBY NEWS Match Preview – Brumbies v Western Force

Match Preview – Brumbies v Western Force


The Brumbies will be fresh after their bye week when they take on the Force on Friday at the GIO Stadium.

This will be their first game after the loss against the Reds two weeks ago and it will be important to get right back to winning way at home this weekend.

The Force has been impressive this season in Super Rugby AU and they are definitely no pushover so we expect another great matchup on Friday.

For the Brumbies James Slipper returns to the starting XV with White that will lead the team on Friday.

Slipper will be joined by Lloyd at the loosened and Fainga’a at hooker.

In the second row we see Swan and Neville again as they have starting in all the games so far this season.

Rob Valetini and Jahrome Brown will be on the side of the scrum with Pete Samu at number eight.

The backline is unchanged for the side that loss against the Reds.

On the bench we see some players that will make their debuts when they get a chance later in the game in Fred Kaihea and Sefo Kautai.

There are only a couple of injury enforced changes to the Force side for this one. Rob Kearney and Richard Kahu are out with Marcel Brache and Jack McGregor coming into the starting XV.

McGregor will start at fullback and Brache was named on the wing. Jono Lance is back in the matchday 23 with England U20 recruit Jordan Olowofela set to make his debut for the Force this weekend.

The Force pushed the log leaders, Reds all the way last week and we expect another exciting match in Canberra when they come up against the Force.

The match will be live on SuperSport at 10:40

Prediction: One would like to say Force but the Brumbies will be difficult this week after the loss. This may turn out to be a hit scoring match if the Force do not pitch up. We have the Brumbies by 10


Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Andy Muirhead, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Mack Hansen, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Nic White (captain), 8 Pete Samu, 7 Jahrome Brown, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Cadeyrn Neville, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 James Slipper, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Harry Lloyd

Replacements: 16 Lachlan Lonergan, 17 Fred Kaihea, 18 Sefo Kautai, 19 James Tucker, 20 Rory Scott, 21 Ryan Lonergan, 22 Reesjan Pasitoa, 23 Issak Fines-Leleiwasa

Western Force: 15 Jack McGregor, 14 Byron Ralston, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Henry Taefu, 11 Marcel Brache, 10 Jake McIntyre, 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Brynard Stander (captain), 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Fergus Lee-Warner, 5 Sitaleki Timani, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Feleti Kaitu’u, 1 Tom Robertson.

Replacements: 16 Jack Winchester, 17 Angus Wagner, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19. Ryan McCauley, 20. Tim Anstee, 21. Ian Prior, 22. Jono Lance, 23. Jordan Olowofela.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments