Home Pre-Season Match Preview – Cell C Sharks v Vodacom Bulls

Match Preview – Cell C Sharks v Vodacom Bulls


One of the big matches this weekend sees the Sharks hosting the Bulls in Durban on Friday. This is one of those matches you always look forward too and this one will be no different.

The two sides last met in the Currie Cup final and although players will say it is not about getting some payback, the Sharks will want to get one back against the Bulls on Friday.

Sharks coach Everitt has made a few changes and we see a lot of his fist choice players back this weekend in the side.

Among the changes we see Springbok captain Siya Kolisi who get his first start since he moved from the Cape to Durban. Fans will be eager to see how Kolisi gets on in the Sharks setup.

We also see Ox Nche and Thomas du Toit back in the front row which will give them a great advantage in the set pieces.

In the second row, Everitt went with Ruben and Emile van Heerden. Henco Venter and Notshe will complete the loose trio with Kolisi.

Hendrikse and Chamberlain will be the halfback combination for this one with Louw back in the midfield to partner with his captain Am.

The back three includes Springbok Nkosi and Yaw Penxe on the wings and Volmink at fullback.

Jake White has made a few changes to his side yet again for the trip to Durban.

Carr will continue leading the side and he will have Tim Agaba and Werner Gouws with him to make up the loose trio. With Agaba coming in, Gouws will move to the openside.

White has gone with a brand new front row which includes Springboks Marcel Van der Merwe and Lizo Gqoboka. Schalk Erasmus will take the number two jumper.

In the backs White has kept Kriel at fullback, Tambwe on the wing and Zak Burger at nine.

In the midfield White again went with a new combination in Marnus Potgieter and David Kellerman who will be tested by Am and Louw.

Burger will have the experience of Morne Steyn at ten which will help the youngster.

This is going to be a cracker so do not miss it live on SuperSport on Friday at 18:55


Sharks: 15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am (Captain), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Boeta Chamberlain, 9 Jaden Hendrikse, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Henco Venter 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Emile van Heerden, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Fez Mbatha, 1 Ox Nche.

Replacemets: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 JJ van der Mescht, 20 Phepsi Buthelezi, 21 Sanele Nohamba, 22 Rynhardt Jonker, 23 Aphelele Fassi

Bulls: 15 Richard Kriel, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Marnus Potgieter, 12 Dawid Kellerman, 11 Diego Appollis, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Zak Burger, 8 Nizaam Carr (captain), 7 Tim Agaba, 6 Werner Gouws, 5 Janko Swanepoel, 4 Jan Uys, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Schalk Erasmus, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.

Replacements: 16 Janco Uys, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Raynard Roets, 20 WJ Steenkamp, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Clinton Swart, 23 Jay-Cee Nel, 24 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 25 Reinhardt Ludwig, 26 Bernard van der Linde, 27 Niel Beukes.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments