Home SANZAAR RUGBY NEWS Match Preview – Chiefs v Blues

Match Preview – Chiefs v Blues


The Chiefs are coming off their first Super Rugby Aotearoa last week to host the Blues at home this weekend.

The Blues on the other hand have suffered their first defeat of the competition when the Crusaders was just too strong for them last weekend and will want to get back to winning way to stay in touch with the Crusaders that have not loss a game this season.

The Chiefs has made three changes to their staring XV for this one with two changes on the bench.

In the pack Samipeni Finau have been given a chance and will move from the bench to start in the second row. He replace the injured Tupou Vaa’i.

Sean Wainui will get his 50th Super Rugby cap after being selected on the wing for this weekend. We also see Shaun Stevenson coming in for Johan Lowe.

On the bench we have O’Niel coming back as cover as well as Pita Gus Sowakula.

There is also a huge milestone this weekend for Blues Of a Tuugafasi who will become the 8th Blues player to reach 100 games.

He will run off the bench for this one. The Blues also have Dalton Papalii and Mark Telea returning to the side.

Finlay Christie will get his first start of the season after a injury layoff and will join Otere Black as the halfback combination for the Blues this weekend.

Although the Blues will be without the suspended Eklund they do have Leni Apisai as cover for Saturday clash.

With six All Blacks in the Blues pack we know that the set pieces will be a massive clash throughout the 80 minutes. Both teams have brilliant backs and with the Chiefs getting that first win we can expect them to play with more confidence which will surely make this a spectacle to watch.

It is great that this one is being played at 08:00 SA time so do not miss this one live on Super Sport on Saturday.

Predictions: The Chiefs will give the Blues a run for their money but have that slight feeling the Blues will still take the win by 8


Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Shaun Stevenson, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Quinn Tupaea, 11 Sean Wainui, 10 Kaleb Trask, 9 Brad Weber (co-captain), 8 Luke Jacobson, 7 Sam Cane (co-captain), 6 Mitchell Brown, 5 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 4 Samipeni Finau, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Aidan Ross.

Replacements: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 Reuben O’Neill, 19 Simon Parker, 20 Pita Gus Sowakula, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Alex Nankivell, 23 Chase Tiatia.

Blues: 15 Stephen Perofeta, 14 Mark Telea, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 Harry Plummer, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Otere Black, 9 Finlay Christie; 8 Hoskins Sotutu, 7 Dalton Papalii, 6 Akira Ioane, 5 Josh Goodhue, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu (captain), 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Luteru Tolai, 1 Alex Hodgman.

Replacements: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Karl Tu’inukuafe, 18 Ofa Tuungafasi, 19 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 20 Tom Robinson, 21 Adrian Choat, 22 Jonathan Ruru, 23 TJ Faiane.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments