Home Super Rugby Match Preview – Chiefs v Hurricanes

Match Preview – Chiefs v Hurricanes


The final match this weekend sees us going back to New Zealand for the Chiefs hosting the Hurricanes on Sunday morning.

With three losses from three games the Chiefs are desperate for a win and at home nothing less will be expected from their supporters and coach.

Facing the Hurricanes who also have not had a good time in the competition makes this one an easy sell to wake up early on Sunday morning with a hot cup off coffee.

Both teams desperate to get that ‘W’ behind their name makes exciting as a supporter.

The Hurricanes comes into the game with some good history behind them facing the Chiefs, having won the last three Super Rugby matches with a draw in there as well.

The scores are normally not very high between these two teams and we do not expect either team to run away with the scoreboard, so hold on to your hats.

The visitors will welcome back All Black Jordie Barrett who will make his first appearance in teh competition

Peter Umaga-Jensen will get his first start in place off Vince Aso and Kobus van der Merwe will get his start ahead off Wes Goosen for this weekend clash.

In the pack Scott Scrafton is the only change replacing Fifita at lock.

Gatland has kept his pack the same as last week but were forced to make some changes to the back.

With Lienert-Brown out with concussion, Quinn Tupaea moves to flyhalf while Tumua Many coming in the midfield.

Prediction: Chiefs by 8


Chiefs: 1. Aidan Ross 2. Bradley Slater 3. Nepo Laulala 4. Mitchell Brown 5. Naitoa Ah Kuoi 6. Lachlan Boshier 7. Sam Cane © 8. Pita Gus Sowakula 9. Brad Weber 10. Aaron Cruden 11. Etene Nanai-Seturo 12. Quinn Tupaea 13. Tumua Manu 14. Sean Wainui 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacemets: 16. Samisoni Taukei’aho 17. Reuben O’Neill 18. Ross Geldenhuys 19. Tupou Vaa’i 20. Dylan Nel 21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi 22. Kaleb Trask 23. Solomon Alaimalo

Hurricanes: 1. Fraser Armstrong 2. Dane Coles (cc) 3. Tyrel Lomax 4. James Blackwell 5. Scott Scrafton 6. Reed Prinsep 7. Du’Plessis Kirifi 8. Ardie Savea 9. TJ Perenara (cc) 10. Jackson Garden-Bachop 11. Ben Lam 12. Ngani Laumape 13. Peter Umaga-Jensen 14. Kobus Van Wyk 15. Jordie Barrett

Replacemets: 16. Ricky Riccitelli 17. Ben May 18. Alex Fidow 19. Vaea Fifita 20. Devan Flanders/Liam Mitchell 21. Jamie Booth 22. Billy Proctor 23. Wes Goosen

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments