Home Super Rugby Match Preview – Crusaders v Highlanders

Match Preview – Crusaders v Highlanders


The last game this weekend we will see the Crusaders going out to secure the competition against the Highlanders on Sunday.

The competition will go to the final round off matches if the Highlanders manage to upset the Crusaders in their own backyard.

In their first round match the Crusaders may have won by a big margin at the end but for most off the game the Highlanders stayed with the champion side on the scoreboard.

The Highlanders also have Josh Ioane and Josh McKay back which should strengthen the side for this Sunday clash.

The Crusaders have a great record against the Highlanders at Orangetheory Stadium winning last five times by 20 point and more against the Highlanders.

The Blues will be hoping that it all goes to Eden Park next weekend but all the signs shows the Crusaders will secure the win and the title this weekend.

The Crusaders will welcome back Ennor in the midfield and Joe Moody in the pack.

For the Highlanders only Jona Nareki comes in for Scott Gregory

Predictions: Would love to see the Highlanders take the win and send the competition to the final weekend but we have Crusaders by 13


Crusaders: 1. Joe Moody 2. Codie Taylor © 3. Michael Alaalatoa 4. Samuel Whitelock 5. Quinten Strange 6. Tom Sanders 7. Tom Christie 8. Whetukamokamo Douglas (vc) 9. Bryn Hall 10. Richie Mo’unga 11. George Bridge 12. Jack Goodhue (vc) 13. Braydon Ennor 14. Sevu Reece 15. Will Jordan

Replacements: 16. Andrew Makalio 17. George Bower 18. Oliver Jager 19. Luke Romano 20. Sione Havili 21. Mitchell Drummond 22. Brett Cameron 23. Leicester Fainga’anuku

Highlanders: 1. Ayden Johnstone 2. Ash Dixon (cc) 3. Jeff Thwaites 4. Pari Pari Parkinson 5. Jack Whetton 6. Shannon Frizell 7. Dillon Hunt 8. Marino Mikaele-Tu’u 9. Aaron Smith (cc) 10. Josh Ioane 11. Jona Nareki 12. Patelesio Tomkinson 13. Michael Collins 14. Josh McKay 15. Mitch Hunt

Replacements: 16. Liam Coltman 17. Daniel Lienert-Brown 18. Siate Tokolahi 19. Manaaki Selby-Rickit 20. Jesse Parete 21. Folau Fakatava 22. Ngatungane Punivai 23. Teariki Ben-Nicholas


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments