Home SANZAAR RUGBY NEWS Match Preview – Highlanders v Chiefs

Match Preview – Highlanders v Chiefs


The first Super Rugby Aotearoa match this weekend will be the Highlanders that will be hosting the Chiefs in Dunedin.

Fresh off their upset against the Champions last week the Highlanders will be on a high taking the field against the Chiefs on Saturday.

The Highlanders is one point ahead of the Chiefs in the log but do have a game in hand on their host.

Mitchell Brown will start for the Chiefs this weekend in his 50th game.

We also see Tupou Vaa’i, Etene Nanai-Seturo and Jonah Lowe returning to the starting XV. They had a bye last week and will be ready to go on Saturday.

Ross, Taukei’aho and Ta’avao will make up the front row for the visitors this weekend.

In the second row we see All Blacks lock Tupou Vaa’i returning to the side with Naitoa Ah Kuoi his lock partner for this one.

Mitchell Brown will start this weekend at six. With Cane out due to injury Kaylum Boshier got the nod to start in the number seven jumper.

The halfback pair will be Brad Weber and Kaleb Trask with Quinn Tupaea and Anton Lienert-Brown in the midfield.

The back three will be made up by Etene Nanai-Seturo and Jonah Lowe on the wings and Damian McKenzie at fullback.

Tony Brown has made several changes to his side that beat the Crusaders. In the pack Josh Hohneck rotates with Tokolahi and Lentjes with Billy Harmon.

At the back Aaron Smith will start at nine with Hammington on the bench to cover him. Scott Gregory moves to the midfield to replace Umaga-Jensen who are injured.

He will partner Patelesio Tomkinson his weekend with Ngatugnane Punivai on the right wing. Josh Ioane return to the side and will play from the bench.

This had all the making of another great New Zealand match so do not miss it. The game will be live on SuperSport at 09:00

Prediction: This is not an easy one but home ground advantage may just give the Highlanders the edge. Highlanders by 5


Highlanders: 15 Connor Garden-Bachop, 14 Ngatungane Punivai, 13 Patelesio Tomkinson, 12 Scott Gregory, 11 Jona Nareki, 10 Mitch Hunt, 9 Aaron Smith (co-captain), 8 Kazuki Himeno, 7 James Lentjes, 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Paripari Parkinson, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 Ash Dixon (co-captain), 1 Ethan De Groot.

Replacements: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Ayden Johnstone, 18 Siate Tokolahi, 19 Josh Dickson, 20 Billy Harmon, 21 Kayne Hammington, 22 Josh Ioane, 23 Hugh Renton.

Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Jonah Lowe, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Quinn Tupaea, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Kaleb Trask, 9 Brad Weber (captain), 8 Luke Jacobson, 7 Kaylum Boshier, 6 Mitchell Brown, 5 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 4 Tupou Vaa’i, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Aidan Ross.

Replacements: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 Joe Apikotoa, 19 Samipeni Finau, 20 Pita Gus Sowakula, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Alex Nankivell, 23 Shaun Stevenson.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments