Home Super Rugby Match Preview – Hurricanes v Chiefs

Match Preview – Hurricanes v Chiefs


It is the second to last round of matches in the revamp Super Rugby Aotearoa and with no wins to their name the Chiefs will want to go out and give everything against the Hurricanes on Saturday.

This will be their last match in the competition and against a inform Hurricanes side it will not be easy.

Gatland made several changes to his side for this clash. Ollie Norris will get a start at loosehead for the first time as well as Taukei’aho getting a start this weekend.

This moves Slater to the bench as he will make his impact later in the match. At tighthead the Chiefs will have All Black Laulala and the second row we will see Naitoa Ah Kuoi and Mitchell Brown.

Jacobson is back in the side with Sam Cane at seven and Gus Sowakula at eight.

The only change in the backline see Kaleb Trask getting his chance at ten.

For the Hurricanes, Wes Goosen will play in his 50th game for the franchise on Saturday.

He has been a regular member off the Hurricanes since 2016 when he made his debut against the Reds.

The Hurricanes will welcome back Dan Coles in the number two jumper for this weekend with Aumua moving to the bench. Lomax also returns after injury.

In the backs Aso will start the game with Laumape force out with a broken arm.

South African, Kobus van Wyk gets a start on the wing again following Ben Lam leaving the franchise for France.

Umaga-Jensen gets another start in the midfield after his brilliant display against the Crusaders two weeks ago.

Out of the 19 clashes with the Chiefs at Sky Stadium the Hurricanes have won 13 of them and we expect a real classic this Saturday between the two teams.

Prediction: It is not just feeling bad for the Chiefs, but they can pull this one off, we do still think the Hurricanes will take the win by 9


Hurricanes: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Peter Umaga-Jensen, 12 Vince Aso, 11 Wes Goosen, 10 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 9 TJ Perenara (co-captain), 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Dane Coles (co-captain), 1 Ben May

Replacements: 16 Asafo Aumua, 17 Tevita Mafileo, 18 Pouri Rakete-Stones, 19 Kane Le’aupepe, 20 Devan Flanders, 21 Jamie Booth, 22 Billy Proctor, 23 Jonah Lowe

Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Shaun Stevenson, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Sean Wainui, 10 Kaleb Trask, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Pita Gus Sowakula, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Ollie Norris

Replacements: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Rob Cobb, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Tupou Vaa’i, 20 Mitchell Karpik, 21 Lisati Milo-Harris, 22 Quinn Tupaea, 23 Kini Naholo

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments