Home SANZAAR RUGBY NEWS Match Preview – Rebels v Force

Match Preview – Rebels v Force


We are in Round 8 off Super Rugby AU and the first game this weekend sees the Rebels hosting the Western Force on Friday

Here is the current Standings after 7 Rounds:

Super Rugby AU


Last week the Rebels went down against the Reds with the Force having had a bye. There is four points between the two team on the log so this can be a spicy game come Friday.

In the previous match the Rebels won a close one 10-7 which made this even more interesting. For sure the Force will come out firing believing they can turn it around this time around

Rebels coach has made five changes to his side for this one.

Rob Leota will make his first start for the Rebels n over a year as he comes in for Cummins who move to the bench.

James Hanson will also replace Jordan Uelese in the front of the scrum. Lewis Holland will also make his first start in Super Rugby partnering with Ili in the midfield.

With Holland coming in the midfield, Reece Hodge will move to fullback for this one.

Brad Wilkin also returns to the side after missing the last five games due to injury.

Tim Sampson has made a few changes to his side facing the Rebels, which includes Kyle Godwin.

Godwin will partner Jordan Olowofela in the midfield. He will also lead the side for this weekend.

Santiago Medrano replace injured Holmes in the front row. He will have some of his country men in the starting XV as well. Tomás Lezana will start at number eight, Tomás Cubelli at nine and Domingo Miotto at ten.

This match will be one to look forward to this weekend and will be live on SuperSport on Friday at 11:40

Prediction: Force will come hard but we believe the Rebels will take this one by 10


Melbourne Rebels: 15 Reece Hodge, 14 Frank Lomani, 13 Stacey Ili, 12 Lewis Holland, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Matt Toomua (captain), 9 Joe Powell, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Richard Hardwick, 6 Josh Kemeny, 5 Trevor Hosea, 4 Robert Leota, 3 Pone Fa’amausili, 2 James Hanson, 1 Cabous Eloff.

Replacements: 16 Jordan Uelese, 17 Matt Gibbon, 18 Lucio Sordoni, 19 Steven Cummins, 20 Brad Wilkin, 21 James Tuttle, 22 Tom Pincus, 23 Jeral Skelton.

Western Force: 15 Jack McGregor, 14 Byron Ralston, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin (captain), 11 Jordan Olowofela, 10 Domingo Miotti, 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Tomás Lezana, 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Fergus Lee-Warner, 5 Sitaleki Timani, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Feleti Kaitu’u, 1 Tom Robertson.

Replacements: Andrew Ready, Jack Winchester, Angus Wagner, Kieran Longbottom, Ryan McCauley, Tim Anstee, Brynard Stander, Ian Prior, Grason Makara, Richard Kahui.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments