Home Pre-Season Match Preview – Toyota Cheetahs v Cell C Sharks

Match Preview – Toyota Cheetahs v Cell C Sharks


Preparations for the upcoming Rainbow Cup is in full swing and the second round of matches will be played on Tuesday and Wednesday with the first one between the Cheetahs and Sharks in Bloemfontein.

Both teams had a good start in the first round of matches with the Cheetahs beating the Stormers in Cape Town and the Sharks getting the better of Griquas in Durban.

Big news for Cheetahs fans will be the return of Ryan Pienaar to the starting XV this week after he made a huge difference against the Stormers when he came off the bench. Pienaar will also lead the team on Tuesday.

There are six more changes to the side that beat the Stormers for this one.

Tian Meyer moves to the bench with Malcolm Jager and Dries Swanepoel are also starting this week.

With the injury to Rudolph, Aidon Davis come into the side with also Khutha Mchunu and Aranos Coetzee switching places.

Dawson will also come in for the injured Van der Merwe. On the bench Van Vuuren and Oupa Mohoje comes in with Droste and Thomson that will be making their debut for the Cheetahs later in the match.

For the Sharks, Ward will lead the team with only minor changes to the side.

John Hubert Meyer will get a start in the engine-room as he switch places with Kumbirai.

At the backs Jordan Chair gets the nod at ten to show his talent with Libbok moving to the bench as cover. The last change to the side sees Kok and Abrahams switching places on the wing.

The match will be live on SuperSport at 16:40


Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Malcolm Jaer, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Reinhardt Fortuin, 9 Ruan Pienaar (c), 8 Aidon Davis, 7 George Cronje, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Rynier Bernardo, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Khutha Mchunu, 2 Wilmar Arnoldi, 1 Cameron Dawson.
Replacements: 16 Marnus van der Merwe, 17 Conraad van Vuuren, 18 Aranos Coetzee, 19 Jean Drotste, 20 Oupa Mohoje, 21 Brandon Thomson/Duncan Saal, 22 Tian Meyer, 23 Chris Smit.

Sharks: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Thaakir Abrahams, 13 Jeremy Ward (captain), 12 Murray Koster, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Jordan Chait, 9 Grant Williams, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 James Venter, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 JJ van der Mescht, 3 John-Hubert Meyer, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Khwezi Mona.
Replacements: 16 Fez Mbatha, 17 Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 Reniel Hugo, 20 Mpilo Gumede, 21 Jaden Hendrikse, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Werner Kok.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments