Home SANZAAR RUGBY NEWS Match Preview – Toyota Cheetahs v Vodacom Bulls

Match Preview – Toyota Cheetahs v Vodacom Bulls


One of the big clashes this weekend in Super Rugby Unlocked comes to Bloemfontein when the Toyota Cheetahs host the Vodacom Bulls on Friday.

Both sides start the season last week with wins although the Bulls had to work hard for theirs against the Cheetahs.

The Bulls will want to start better than what they did against Griquas. Their first half performance was not something to remember and against a dangerous Cheetahs side they would not want the scoreboard to run away from them as it did last week.

We expect a massive clash between the forwards and a aspect of the game that Jake White would have identified they could get dominance.

Johan Grobbelaar will pack next to Nyakane and Van Rooyen this weekend in the front row.

The Bulls also have their captain back after Vermeulen was left out for last weeks clash against the Griquas.

In the backs we will see Clinton Swart in the midfield which could make things interesting against the likes of Frans Steyn and Benhard Janse van Rensburg.

Another great match up to look forward to is at scrumhalf where Pienaar experience comes up against Papier who got the nod in this week to start with Van Zyl moving to the bench.

There is enough speed and skills in both backlines to make this a mouthwatering affair come Friday night.

The Cheetahs only made one change which is on the bench with Jacques du Toit coming in.

The match will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

Predictions: We are going with the Cheetahs by 9


Cheetahs Team: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Malcolm Jaer, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar (c), 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Charles Marais.

Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Boan Venter, 18 Erich de Jager, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Aidon Davis, 21 Chris Massyn, 22 Tian Meyer, 23 William Small-Smith.

Vodacom Bulls: 15. Gio Aplon, 14. David Kriel, 13. Cornal Hendricks, 12. Clinton Swart, 11. Jade Stighling, 10. Morné Steyn, 9. Embrose Papier, 8. Duane Vermeulen (C), 7. Arno Botha, 6. Marco van Staden, 5. Ruan Nortje, 4. Jason Jenkins, 3. Trevor Nyakane, 2. Johan Grobbelaar, 1. Jacques van Rooyen.

Replacements: 16. Joe van Zyl, 17. Gerhard Steenekamp, 18. Mornay Smith, 19. Sintu Manjezi, 20. Nizaam Carr, 21. Ivan van Zyl, 22. Chris Smith, 23. Stedman Gans.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x