Home Australian Rugby Match Preview – Waratahs v Reds

Match Preview – Waratahs v Reds


Australia is kicking off their domestic Super Rugby competition this weekend and on Friday the Reds and Waratahs start it all down under.

The Waratahs will have a fairly young team starting for them this weekend and one off  the most inexperienced backlines in recent memory.

This follow the departure of players like Folau, Foley, Phipps, Rona and Adam Ashley-Cooper

It total the Tahs will have five uncapped players to face the Reds on Friday.

Will Harris and Joey Walton will both make their debut in the starting XV with Tom Horton, Tiaan Tauakipulu and Ben Donaldson will get their chance off the bench later in the game.

For the Reds captain Liam Wright will shift to the blindside with McReight at seven and Harry Wilson at number eight.

In the second row we see Angus Blyth and Lukhan Salakaia-Loto in the second row, with Brandon Paenga-Amosa alongside Harry Hoopert and Taniela Tupou in the front row.

At halfback we see McDermott and O’Conner with Stewart and Paisami in the midfield.

“We’re pumped to be back playing Rugby again this week,” said Thorn.

“We’ve been in a moment of history – 100 years since the Spanish flu. It’s been a tough four months, but as group – both players and staff, we’ve worked hard for each other and adapted to the challenges.

“It doesn’t get any better than playing the Waratahs in the season opener. Queensland v New South Wales – there’s plenty of tradition there. It’s a great rivalry and we look forward to continuing that on Friday night.”

This is going to be interesting to see if the Aussies can replicate the great games we have seen so far from the Kiwis.

Predictions: Reds by plenty


Reds: 15 Bryce Hegarty, 14 Jock Campbell, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Hamish Stewart, 11 Filipo Daugunu, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Fraser McReight, 6 Liam Wright, 5 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 4 Angus Blyth, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Harry Hoopert.
Replacements: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 JP Smith, 18 Josh Nasser, 19 Tuaina Taii Tualima, 20 Angus Scott Young, 21 Scott Malolua, 22 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 23 Josh Flook.

Waratahs: 15 Jack Maddocks, 14 James Ramm, 13 Alex Newsome, 12 Joey Walton, 11 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Mitch Short, 8 Will Harris, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Rob Simmons (captain), 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 2 Robbie Abel, 1 Angus Bell.
Replacements: 16 Tom Horton, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Tiaan Tauakipulu, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Jack Dempsey, 21 Michael McDonald, 22 Ben Donaldson, 23 Tepai Moeroa.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments