Home Super Rugby Match Preview – Western Force v Waratahs

Match Preview – Western Force v Waratahs


This weekend round kicks off on Friday with the Force and the Waratahs in Super Rugby AU.

The two teams are at the bottom of the log at the moment but still enough time to chase for the title but wins are becoming crucial for both.



The two teams have played 18 times in Super Rugby against each other with the Waratahs winning 11 times with one draw between them.

The Force will have their captain Ian Prior back for this important clash on Friday. He missed the last two matches due to a back injury.

He is one of seven changes to the Force side for this match.

Pek Cowan are back in the line-up. He made his 131st appearance for the club coming off the bench against the Rebels. Kane Koteka will make his first Super Rugby AU appearance of the season. He takes the place of Tevin Ferris who is injured.

In the backs Lacey comes back in place of Brache who is rested for this weekend. Jake Strachan will also make his Super Rugby AU debut at fullback in place of Jack McGregor who moves to the bench.

The Waratahs have Rob Simmons returning after his injury layoff

The returning skipper will join Staniford in the second row on Friday with Hanigan as backup on the bench.

Teyera Faulkner gets his first start for the Tahs while Robbe Able returns to the bench.

The Tahs backs is unchanged for this clash and they are going into the match as favorites.

Our Predictions: Tahs to take the match by 14 points


Western Force: 15 Jake Strachan, 14 Byron Ralston, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Richard Kahui, 11 Brad Lacey, 10 Jono Lance, 9 Ian Prior (c), 8 Brynard Stander, 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Henry Stowers, 5 Fergus Lee Warner, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Kieran Longbottom, 2 Feleti Kaitu’u, 1 Pek Cowan

Replacements: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Chris Heiberg, 18 Tom Sheminant, 19 Johan Bardoul, 20 Ollie Atkins, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Nick Jooste, 23 Jack McGregor

Waratahs: Jack Maddocks, James Ramm, Lalakai Foketi, Karmichael Hunt, Alex Newsome, Will Harrison, Jake Gordon, Jack Dempsey, Michael Hooper, Lachie Swinton, Rob Simmons (c), Tom Staniforth, Te Tetera Faulkner, Tom Horton, Tom Robertson.

Replacements: Robbie Abel, Angus Bell, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Ned Hanigan, Hugh Sinclair, Mitch Short, Ben Donaldson, Joey Walton

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments