Sharks coach Robert du Preez showed his hand first in naming his team for the Currie Cup final this weekend against Province.

The team only see one change to the team that beat the Blue Bulls in the semifinal with Ndungane that will start his last match in the final for the Sharks.

He replace Nkosi who has injured his elbow last week with Ryno Smith that will come in on the bench for the Sharks.

“This is what we’ve played for throughout this campaign and a home final means everything to us. This is our final 80 minutes of rugby for the season and nothing but our best will be good enough,” Du Preez said after naming his side on Thursday.

“Sticking to what has worked for us, our game management and backing our systems is key. Playing a final in front of your home crowd is the ultimate honour and our players are excited to run out on Saturday in front of a passionate home crowd and give it their all.”

This is a strong Sharks team who goes into the final as the favorites


Sharks :15 Garth April, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Odwa Ndungane, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Tyler Paul, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Thomas du Toit

Replacements: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Jean Droste, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Tristan Blewett, 23 Rhyno Smith

Facebook Comments


  1. What did the Tjarks no. 22 do when he got the ball with an open tryline in front of him?

    You guessed it, he Blewett.

Comments are closed.