Last time the Sharks played against the Golden Lions they were handed a heavy defeat in the semi-final of last year’s ABSA Currie Cup. This weekend see the two teams going at each other again, with the Lions boosting two wins from two games and the Sharks with one lost and one win.


The Sharks have shown a much more improve performance last weekend against the EP Kings in Durban but against a Lions team they will have to be at their best if they want to win this one.

The Lions have been with the Blue Bulls the form team in the Currie Cup and one can expect a great match come Saturday.

Paul Jordaan returns for the Sharks in the starting line-up for the first time after a long injury lay-off and will be joined by Andre Esterhuizen in the midfield.

Williams drops out of the team with Mjekevu getting a change of the bench. Sharks also have Sithole back from injury and will get his place back at left wing. The other change in the backline will see Claassens replacing Ungerer at scrumhalf.

In the forwards Deysel is out due to injury and he will be replaced by Kleinhans with Chadwick returning to the number 1 jumper.

The Lions have suffered a major blow this week with the news that Harold Voster will be out for the rest of the season. Lions coach Ackerman made four changes to his side with Dreyer and Coetzee moving into the starting line-up.

Lusaseni also move into the the lock position and Kwagga Smith starting at flank. In the backline Hanekom will start in the midfield with van der Walt moving in at fullback and Combrink at the wing.


Sharks – 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 André Esterhuizen, 11 S’bura Sithole, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Daniel du Preez, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Marco Wentzel (c), 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Monde Hadebe, 1 Dale Chadwick.
Subs: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Gerhard Engelbrecht, 18 David McDuling, 19 Jean-Luc du Preez, 20 Stefan Ungerer, 21 Wandile Mjekevu, 22 SP Marais.

Golden Lions – 15 Jaco van der Walt, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Stokkies Hanekom, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Ross Cronjé, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Kwagga Smith, 6 Jaco Kriel (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 MB Lusaseni, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Ruan Dreyer.
Subs: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Martin Muller, 19 Steph de Wit, 20 Ricky Schroeder, 21 Alwyn Hollenbach, 22 Anthony Volmink