After two rounds of ABSA Currie Cup both the Free State Cheetahs and Griquas will be going out to get there first win this Friday.


Franco Smith was encouraged by the improve performance from his side last weekend against WP after going down to the Blue Bulls the week before with 50 points.

I am excited, we are building, growing, and trying to get everything firing and a little bit of confidence would be great,” he said. “Last week in difficult conditions the backs did really well, I think we created the opportunities we would ask in a game like that and hopefully playing in dryer conditions they’ll be even more effective.”

Griquas has named a unchanged side despite losing 36-12 last weekend against the Blue Bulls.

Griquas coach Hawies Fourie has named an unchanged team for this encounter despite losing 36-12 to the Bulls last weekend. They did show some competitiveness in the first forty against the Blue Bulls and never gave up.

This should be a cracker of a game against the “Neighbours of Middle Earth” two teams.

The teams:

Griquas: 15 Gouws Prinsloo, 14 Ruhan Nel, 13 Jonathan Francke, 12 Michael Van Der Spuy, 11 Ntabeni Dukisa, 10 Riaan Viljoen, 9 Tian Meyer (captain), 8 Carel Greeff, 7 Hilton Lobberts, 6 RJ Liebenberg, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Jonathan Adendorf, 3 Stephan Kotze, 2 AJ Le Roux, 1 Danie Minnie.
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Ewald Van Der Westhuizen, 18 Jaco Nepgen, 19 Leon Karemaker, 20 Rudi van Rooyen, 21 Clinton Swart, 22 Jacquin Jansen

Free State Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Rayno Benjamin, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Gerhard Olivier, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Armandt Koster, 3  Luan de Bruin, 2 Jacques du Toit, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Elandre Huggett, 17 Maks van Dyk, 18 Reniel Hugo, 19 Tienie Burger, 20 Freddy Ngoza, 21 Ruan van Rensburg, 22 Sias Ebersohn

Date: Friday, August 21
Venue: Griqua Park, Kimberley
Kick-off: 19.10 (17.10 GMT)
Referee: Lesego Legoete
Assistant referees: Renier Vermeulen, Pieter Janse van Vuuren
TMO: Johan Greeff