Home Pre-Season Preview – NNC Pumas v Toyota Cheetahs

Preview – NNC Pumas v Toyota Cheetahs


The Pumas will host the Cheetahs in the early Friday clash in Nelspruit.

The Cheetahs have been playing some good rugby so far in the pre-season warmup games which should give them the edge on Friday but you can never count out the Pumas at home.

Standing out on the Cheetahs selection for this week is the inclusion of former Springbok Jacques Potgieter who has been named in the number eight jumper for this one.

Portgieter has played for the Bulls, Sharks, Waratahs and Toulon before he recently signed a contract with the Cheetahs.

There are a few other changes to the Cheetahs side as well with Oupa Mohoje and Chris Massyn that will join Potgieter as the loose trio.

Sekekete will join Carl Wegner in the second row with Aranos Coetzee and Van der Merwe that will pack down in the front row.

In the backs Rhyno Smith will start at fullback with Fortuin on the wing and Mnisi in the midfield.

The Pumas will welcome back Marne Coetzee in the front row on Friday after he missed the 2020 season due to injury. He will be next to Westraadt and Naude this weekend.

Engelbrecht and Maartens return to the loose trio with Kleinhans moving from blindside to open side.

In the backs Taljaard is back on the wing with Cronje in the midfield with Mgijima.

The Pumas will be looking desperately for a win against the Cheetahs after losses to the Lions and Bulls the last couple of weeks.

The game is live on SuperSport at 16:45.


New Nation Pumas: 15 Devon Williams, 14 Etienne Taljaard, 13 Erich Cronjé, 12 Ali Ngijima, 11 Tapiwa Mafura, 10 Eddie Fouché, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Willie Engelbrecht, 7 Francois Kleinhans, 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Darien Landsberg, 4 Pieter Janse van Vuren (captain), 3 Marné Coetzee, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Morgan Naudé.

Replacements: 16 AJ le Roux, 17 Dewald Maritz, 18 Ruan Kramer, 19 Jaco Willemse, 20 Kwanda Dimaza, 21 Phumzile Maqondwana, 22 Ginter Smuts, 23 Wayne van der Bank, 24 Sebastian de Klerk.

Toyota Cheetahs: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Malcolm Jaer, 13 Chris Smit, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Craig Barry, 10 Reinhardt Fortuin, 9 Ruan Pienaar (captain), 8 Jacques Potgieter, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Chris Massyn, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Marnus van der Merwe, 1 Cameron Dawson.

Replacements: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Conraad van Vuuren, 19 Rynier Bernardo, 20 Aidon Davis, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Frans Steyn, 23 Rosko Specman.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x