Home SANZAAR RUGBY NEWS Preview – Rebels v Waratahs

Preview – Rebels v Waratahs


The Rebels will be hosting the Waratahs on Friday in Round 5 clash of the Super Rugby AU.

It has been a horror time for the Waratahs so far this season with zero wins for three matches. The Rebels has not been much better either, only winning 1 out the three matches so far.

With the Reds and Brumbies so far ahead of the other three teams in the Aussie competition, the other three sides are actually fighting for third place really.

The Waratahs reminds me of Wales in 2020, the potential is there, they have the players, it just haven’t click yet. So in my mind if they can just give them time, this team will become a force in Aussie rugby again.

The Rebels always seemed to come up short and just need to become a team that win more regularly. They have forsake the players, so this match could be a real spectacle this weekend.

Waratahs coach Penney has made one positional change to the starting XV with a few new players on the bench.

Harry Johnson-Holmes will play his 50th Super Rugby match this weekend for the Tahs as the only change in the starting XV, switching from positions in the front-row.

Sam Wykes is set to make his debut later in the match from the bench.

Also on the bench Lalakai Foketi makes his long-awaited return from injury, while Darcy Breen and George Francis are set to make their NSW Waratahs debuts if they take the field.

For the Rebels Steve Cummins comes back into the starting XV. On the bench Darcy Breen and George Francis are set to make their debut for the Rebels off the bench.

Lalakai Foketi is set to make a return to the team after injury and will also play off the bench for this weekend match against the Tahs.

Prediction: On form the Rebels should take this one, but we going for the Tahs first win, Tahs by 6


Melbourne Rebels: 15 Tom Pincus, 14 Lachlan Anderson, 13 Stacey Ili, 12 Reece Hodge, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Matt To’omua (captain), 9 Joe Powell, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Richard Hardwick, 6 Joshua Kemeny, 5 Trevor Hosea, 4 Steve Cummins, 3 Pone Faamausili, 2 James Hanson, 1 Cabous Eloff.

Replacements: 16 Jordan Uelese, 17 Matt Gibbon, 18 Lucio Sordoni, 19 Tom Nowlan, 20 Robert Leota, 21 James Tuttle, 22 Glen Vaihu, 23 Frank Lomani.

Waratahs: 15 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 14 Jack Maddocks, 13 Alex Newsome (captain), 12 Tepai Moeroa, 11 James Ramm, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Jack Grant, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Carlo Tizzano, 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Sam Caird, 4 Hugh Sinclair, 3 Te Tera Faulkner, 2 David Porecki, 1 Harry Johnson-Holmes.

Replacements: 16 Tom Horton, 17 George Francis, 18 Darcy Breen, 19 Sam Wykes, 20 Jeremy Williams, 21 Henry Robertson, 22 Tane Edmed, 23 Lalakai Foketi.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments