Home SA Rugby Pre-Season Preview – Stormers v Cheetahs

Preview – Stormers v Cheetahs


A new era for WP Rugby and the Stormers starts this weekend.

They will play their first game at Cape Town Stadium after they said goodbye to DHL Newlands and they will be without Siya Kolisi after the Springbok captain moved to the Sharks.

The Stormers has gone through some difficult times in the last few years even if most of it was off the field, so starting this season well and build a new legacy at a new stadium is a priority for Dobson and his team.

They will face the Cheetahs on Saturday in their first match and a tougher opponent you can not ask for in your first match.

The team will be led by Chris Van Zyl this weekend.

There will be a good balance between experience and young blood in the Stormers team for this weekend.

In the engine-room Scarra will pack with Vermaak and Fouche with Van Zyl and Meihuizen in they second row.

Augustus will be joined by Dixon and Theunissen as the loose trio for this weekend with Masimla and Kade Wolhuter as they halfback combination.

In the midfield we see Nel partner with Cornel Smit with Zas, Van der Merwe and Leyds the back three.

According to Dobson the team is excited to start the season and he is happy with the balance in the side.

The Cheetahs coach Hawies Fourie has picked newly signed Schalk Ferreira and Rynier Bernardo in his side for Saturday.

Charles Marais, Junior Pokomela, Small-Smith and van der Westhuizen was not available for section due to injuries.

It is a good side on paper that will take on the Stormers with double World Cup Winner, Frans Steyn in the midfield with Chris Smit.

Specman and Saal are on the wings with Blommetjies at fullback. The halfback for this match will be Fortuin and Tian Mayer.

Ruan Pienaar will make his return to the side after a long injury layoff and will start from the bench.

The match kickoff at 17:00 on Saturday afternoon


Stormers – 15 Tristan Leyds, 14 Edwill van der Merwe, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Cornel Smit, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Kade Wolhuter, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Ben-Jason Dixon, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 Chris van Zyl (c), 4 David Meihuizen, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Ali Vermaak.

Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Johan du Toit, 20 Ernst van Rhyn, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Abner van Reenen, 23 Mnombo Zwelendaba.

Cheetahs: 15. Clayton Blommetjies, 14. Duncan Saal, 13. Chris Smit, 12. Frans Steyn, 11. Rosko Specman, 10. Reinhardt Fortuin, 9. Tian Meyer, 8. Jeandré Rudolph, 7. George Cronje, 6. Andisa Ntsila, 5. Rynier Bernardo, 4. Carl Wegner, 3. Aranos Coetzee, 2. Wilmar Arnoldi, 1. Schalk van der Merwe

Replacements: 16. Marnus van der Merwe, 17. Conraad van Vuuren, 18. Khutha Mchunu, 19. Victor Sekekete, 20. Aidon Davis, 21. Ruan Pienaar, 22. Dries Swanepoel, 23. Rhyno Smith

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments