The Golden Lions will open their account in this years Currie Cup when they face Griquas in round 2 at home on Friday.

The Lions welcome back Cronje who will also lead them in their opening match of the season.

The Lions also have Springboks Andries Coetzee, Courtnall Skosan and newly selected Springbok Marvin Orie in their starting lineup.

The Lions have a few youngsters coming through the ranks with the absence of their Springboks and players playing in Japan.

Griquas had a terrible start tho their campaign when the Pumas beat them last week in Nelspruit.

They were outplayed by the Pumas and set pieces was not that great for them. Playing the Lions at home will not be an easy task and they will have to up their performance by 100%.

Although they created chances last week they did not have much ball and defended the game for to longer periods of time.

They will have to dominate the collisions against the Lions which will not be an easy task.

The Lions have pride themselves in their set pieces for a number of years and if Griquas can not stand their man in this department it will become a long afternoon at Emirates Airline Park on Friday.

Griquas has always been a difficult team to face home and away but they will have to lift their game as at this stage Lions are the favourites to win this one

Predictions: Griquas seems to be struggling and Lions at home must get a win by 10+

The game will kickoff at 19:00 on Friday and will be broadcast on SS1


Golden Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Jan-Louis la Grange, 12 Manni Rass, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Shaun Reynolds, 9 Ross Cronje (c), 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Len Massyn, 6 James Venter, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Rhyno Herbst, 3 Johannes Jonker, 2 Corne Fourie, 1 Sti Sithole
16 HP van Schoor, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse, 18 PJ Steenkamp, 19 Vincent Tshituka, 20 Dillon Smit, 21 Tyrone Green, 22 Wandisile Simelane

Griquas: 15 Eric Zana, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Kyle Steyn, 12 Christopher Bosch, 11 AJ Coertzen, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Christiaan Meyer, 8 Conway Pretorius, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Wendal Wehr, 5 Pieter van Vuuren, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 2 Khwenzi Mkhafu, 1 Devon Martinus

Replacements: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Ruan Kramer, 18 Wandile Putuma, 19 Eital Bredenkamp, 20 Zak Burger, 21 Jonathan Janse van Rensburg, 22 Andre Swarts

Facebook Comments