Home Guinness PRO14 2019/2020 PRO14 Match Preview – Kings needs to start winning games

PRO14 Match Preview – Kings needs to start winning games

Photo By: Marc Sing Key

The Isuzu Southern Kings will play their third home match this season against Ulster on Saturday in round 3 of the Guinness PRO14.

Josiah Twum-Boafo will get his first start for the Kings after he made his debut in Round 2 last week against Munster.

He replace Adell Loubser as the only change in the backline from last week team.

“Josiah did well in the warm-up matches and he took his opportunity last weekend when he came onto the field,” Isuzu Southern Kings interim Head Coach, Robbi Kempson, said on Friday.

“Unfortunately long-term injuries have affected some of our other wings like Yaw Penxe, but we certainly have two very good young wings in Josiah and Christopher Hollis, who is unfortunate to lose out on selection this week.

“We are very comfortable with Josiah and are confident that he can make the step up. That is why he is now in the starting XV.”

They have also made one change to the pack in Rossouw de Klerk that comes in for Scholtz.

Kempson expect a heavy forward battle and the one area where he wants his players to keep on growing.

The Kings can expect a bit of a backlash from Ulsater after the heavy defeat last week against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein.

For Ulster Marcell Coetzee will mark his return from injury at number 8. This is after he got injured before the World Cup.

This will be his first start for the season which also sees Louis Ludik coming in on the left wing.

With many players at the World Cup this is a great opportunity for the Kings to get their first win of the new season at home.


Kings: 1 Juan Schoeman, 2Alandre van Rooyen, 3 Rossouw de Klerk, 4 Jerry Sexton, 5 Aston Fortuin, 6 Lusanda Badiyana (C), 7 Tienie Burger, 8 Ruaan Lerm. 9 Stefan Ungerer (V/C), 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 11 Courtney Winnaar, 12 JT Jackson, 13 Tertius Kruger, 14 Josiah Twum-Boafo, 15 Masixole Banda.

Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Alulutho Tshakweni, 18 Pieter Scholtz, 19 JC Astle, 20 Bobby de Wee, 21 Josh Allderman, 22 Sibusiso Sithole, 23 Elrigh Louw

Ulster – 15 Matt Faddes, 14 Craig Gilroy, 13 Luke Marshall, 12 Stuart McCloskey, 11 Louis Ludik, 10 Billy Burns, 9 John Cooney, 8 Marcell Coetzee, 7 Sean Reidy, 6 Matthew Rea, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Alan O’Connor, 3 Tom O’Toole, 2 Rob Herring, 1 Eric O’Sullivan.

Replacements: 16 Adam McBurney, 17 Kyle McCall, 18 Ross Kane, 19 Kieran Treadwell, 20 Greg Jones, 21 Dave Shanahan, 22 Angus Curtis, 23 James Hume.

Kick-off for the match is at 16h00 and it is live on SuperSport