Home ABSA Currie Cup Province unchanged for Final against Lions

Province unchanged for Final against Lions


DHL Western Province will field an unchanged line-up in Saturday’s Absa Currie Cup Final against the Xerox Golden Lions in Johannesburg (kick-off 13h45).

CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA - OCTOBER 09: Juan de Jongh of Western Province during the  Absa Currie Cup match between DHL Western Province and Eastern Province Kings at DHL Newlands on October 09, 2015 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Carl Fourie/Gallo Images)

Kotze will start in his first-ever Absa Currie Cup Final, one of seven players doing so, whilst a total of 12 players in the matchday squad will be wearing Province colours in a final for the first time.

Dobson told the www.wprugby.com website: “We have a massive task ahead of us on Saturday, so it was good to retain this kind of (selection) continuity ahead of the final.

“The Lions deserve to be hosting this weekend’s final. They’re unbeaten and have been consistently brilliant throughout the season, so we are certainly up against it.”

The DHL WP Under-21s will also be involved in a final at Emirates Airline Park on Saturday (kick-off 11h15), emulating their senior team’s achievement of four consecutive final appearances.

“There is a certain amount of resilience in this team of ours,” said Dobson, who was the DHL WP U21 coach from 2010 until 2014.

“I thought the guys showed good signs against the Bulls last week, but we certainly need to take it up a notch against this Lions side who will be looking to make up for last year’s final and ensure their current unbeaten run is rewarded with some silverware.”

Juan de Jongh will again skipper the DHL WP team on Saturday, with loosehead prop Steven Kitshoff playing in his final match for the union before he departs for France at the end of the season.

The DHL Western Province team for Saturday’s final (v Xerox Golden Lions, away) is as follows:

15. Cheslin Kolbe – 38 DHL WP caps
14. Dillyn Leyds – 14 DHL WP caps
13. Johnny Kotze – 9 DHL WP caps
12. Juan de Jongh (captain) – 55 DHL WP caps
11. Seabelo Senatla – 16 DHL WP caps
10. Robert du Preez – 19 DHL WP caps
9. Nic Groom – 68 DHL WP caps
8. Nizaam Carr – 36 DHL WP caps
7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe – 40 DHL WP caps
6. Rynhardt Elstadt – 39 DHL WP caps
5. Ruan Botha – 18 DHL WP caps
4. Jean Kleyn – 21 DHL WP caps
3. Wilco Louw – 21 DHL WP caps
2. Bongi Mbonambi – 11 DHL WP caps
1. Steven Kitshoff – 38 DHL WP caps

16. Michael Willemse – 23 DHL WP caps
17. Oli Kebble – 15 DHL WP caps
18. Chris van Zyl – 18 DHL WP caps
19. Jurie van Vuuren – 14 DHL WP caps
20. Jano Vermaak – 7 DHL WP caps
21. Kurt Coleman – 60 DHL WP caps
22. Huw Jones – 9 DHL WP caps

Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant referees: Stuart Berry, Jason Jaftha
TMO: Marius Jonker