The most exciting bit of Super Rugby when you at least see strength vs strength and our first quarter final is Friday morning when the Brumbies host the Hurricanes in Canberra.

Most expect this to be a onside match and that the current champions will easily get pass the Brumbies but we have learned enough over the last couple of years that you do not write of any team when it comes to the play-offs.

The Hurricanes have draw not the shortest straw, not the longest straw but the best one when they beat the Crusaders last week to secure a trip to Australia rather than Cape Town. The Brumbies have not played the world on fire this year and to be honest have actually struggled in their last couple of matches.

The Hurricanes have been on of the top sides in the competition throughout the year and have a great change to defend their title this year again. They are the only side that could beat the Crusaders this year and have been brilliant on attack.

They have also top this years Super Rugby for most tries scored(89), being deadly from broken play and turnovers is something you do not want to give to this Hurricanes team.

The Brumbies have been good in the set pieces and their defence have been good as well this year.

Praying for rain is almost all they Brumbies can do to maybe stand a change of winning this one and taking their log position, rightly so as well. Another positive for the Brumbies will be that they will play in front of their passionate supporters but that is about it for them.

Prediction: Can only see one winner, Hurricanes by 15 plus points

Hurricanes – 15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Jordie Barrett, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara (c), 8 Brad Shields, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Sam Lousi, 4 Mark Abbott,3  Jeff To’omaga-Allen, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Ben May.
Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Loni Uhila, 19 Reed Prinsep, 20 Callum Gibbins, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Otere Black, 23 Cory Jane.

Brumbies – 15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani,12  Andrew Smith,11 James Dargaville, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Jordan Smiler, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter (c), 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Josh Mann-Rea, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements:: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Ben Alexander, 18 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Blake Enever, 20 Jarrad Butler, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 23 Christian Leali’ifano.