Home SANZAAR RUGBY NEWS Super Rugby AU – Force hold on for famous win against Tahs

Super Rugby AU – Force hold on for famous win against Tahs


The Waratahs are still without a win after three rounds in the new season of Super Rugby AU. They went down to the Force in Friday  20-16 after they had the early lead in the match.

They were still in the lead when the teams went in for halftime by 13-10 but it was the Force who took their opportunities better in the second half that saw them take their first win of the season.

Even with only 14-men the Force were able to hold off the late onslaught by the Tahs.

The homes side took the lead when Porecki got over from a driving maul. This gave them a 7-0 lead early in the match. A penalty from Harrison extend that lead to 10-0 for the Tahs.

With the Force making mistakes Harrison was happy to kick them to put some scoreboard pressure on the visitors as he extended the lead to 13-0.

The Force finally got on the board when Lee-Warner got over after a break by Anstee. This reduced the Tahs lead to 13-7.

The Force kept the momentum at the end of the first half and McIntyre got a shot at the poles to reduce the lead to 13-10 which is how the two teams went into the break.

The Waratahs started the second half well and almost score through Porecki but the ball was lost and it was the Force that got the first try in the second half through Tim Anstee.

This try came form a line out and the ball going out to Anstee getting the perfect pass to get over for his try. This gave the Force the lead for the fist time in the match.

The Force was then reduced to 14 men after Andrew Ready was given a red card for a punch.

A penalty from the Waratahs made it a one point game. The Force would get their own penalty a few minutes later from a scrum which would see Ian Prior kicking the goal to extend the lead to four points.

Despite the Waratahs desperate attempt to steal the win the Force was able to hang on for a famous win against the Waratahs, their first win since 2017.


Waratahs: Tries – Porecki Conversions – Harrison Penalties – Harrison (3)

Western Force: Tries – Lee-Warner, Antsee Conversions – McIntyre (2) Penalties – McIntyre, Prior.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments