Home SANZAAR RUGBY NEWS Super Rugby AU – Force v Brumbies

Super Rugby AU – Force v Brumbies


The Western Force struggled in the first Super Rugby AU at the end of last year, and will be determined to come into the second season of the competition much stronger.

Well they will be tested when they face the Brumbies who won the Super Rugby AU championship last year this weekend.

The Brumbies will go into the match as favourites but in week 1 it is never a given.

They will have five debutants in their lineup for Fridays round 1 clash against the champions.

Wallabies stars like Kuridrani and Tom Robertson will want to make their mark quickly for the Force while internationals like Argentinians Santiago Medrano and Tomas Lezana as well as Irish great Rob Kearney will make a huge difference in the side.

There are some new recruits in Brynard Stander, Jono Lance and Marcel Brache as well as Kane Koteka and Kyle Godwin.

On the bench coach Tim Sampson has Former Wallaby prop Greg Holmes and World Cup-winning All Black Richard Kahui who will definitely make an impact later on in the match.

He also have Argentinian playmaker Tomás Cubelli with flyhalf Jake McIntyre, Australian 7s player Tim Anstee and at lock Ryan McCauley, all set to make their potential Force debuts from the bench.

The champions will have some very experience Wallabies in their side for Fridays clash.

Len Ikitau will play at inside centre on Friday with Mack Hansen on the wing. Hansen back three partners will be Andy Muirhead and Tom Banks.

James Slipper will earn his 137th Super Rugby cap and will be with Falau Fainga’a and Allan Alaalatoa in the front row.

Swan and Neville will be the lock pair for this first round match with Jahrome Brown making his return to Super Rugby alongside Rob Valentini and Pete Samu.

Nick White will take the number nine jumper with Noah Lolesio next to him.

Prediction: I know we said we go with home side for the first round but one can not see pass the quality that is this Brumbies side. Brumbies by 12


REDS: Dane Zander, Alex Mafi, Feao Fotuaika, Angus Blyth, Seru Uru, Angus Scott-Young, Fraser McReight, Harry Wilson, Tate McDermott, James O’Connor (c), Filipo Daugunu, Hamish Stewart, Hunter Paisami, Jordan Petaia, Jock Campbell

Replacements: Richie Asiata*, Harry Hoopert, Taniela Tupou, Ryan Smith*, Tuania Tali Taualima, Moses Sorovi, Bryce Hegarty, Ilaisa Droasese*

WARATAHS: Angus Bell, Tom Horton, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Sam Caird, Jack Whetton, Will Harris, Carlo Tizzano, Jack Dempsey, Jake Gordon (c), Will Harrison, James Ramm, Joey Walton, Izaia Perese, Alex Newsome, Jack Maddocks

Replacements: Dave Porecki, Tetera Faulkner, Sio Tatola, Jeremy Williams, Hugh Sinclair, Jack Grant, Tane Edmed, Mark Nawaqanitawase

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments