Home Super Rugby Super Rugby Preview – Brumbies v Reds

Super Rugby Preview – Brumbies v Reds


It is most properly the biggest game in the Super Rugby AU this weekend, when the Brumbies and Reds meet on Saturday. Both sides have been by far the best in the revamp Super Rugby competition.

These two teams should provide us with some quality rugby this weekend, which is something we have not seen a lot in the Super Rugby AU.

Both sides are undefeated although the Reds have one draw behind their name.

For the Brumbies Darcy Swain returns to the side this weekend and will partner Nick Frost in the second row.

They have a quality front row for this match in Allan Alaalatoa, Scott Sio and Folau Fainga’a.

The loose trio has been kept the same as Valentini, Miller and Samu gets another chance.

On the bench Tom Cusack returns to cover the loose forwards with McCaffrey.

For the Reds we will see Jordan Petaia and Feao Fotuaika back. We also have Zander starting at loosehead with Hoopert out for four to five weeks.

Blyth returns form injury to partner with Lukham Salakaia-Loto in the second row.

Scott-Young will move to the side off the scrum and Liam Wright that will get the number seven jumper for this weekend.

There is only one change in the backline with Scott Malolua getting the nod to start at nine. That means McDermott will provide cover alongside McReight, Petaia and Fotuaika.

Prediction: Have a feeling the Reds are coming with an upset this weekend, Reds by 7


Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Solomone Kata, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Tom Wright, 10 Bayley Kuenzie, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Pete Samu, 7 Will Miller, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Nick Frost, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Allan Alaalatoa (c), 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 James Slipper, 18 Tom Ross, 19 Tom Cusack, 20 Lachlan McCaffrey, 21 Issak Fines, 22 Mack Hansen, 23 Andy Muirhead.

Reds: 15 Jock Campbell, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Hamish Stewart, 11 Filipo Daugunu, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Scott Malolua, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Liam Wright (c), 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 4 Angus Blyth, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Dane Zander.
Replacements:: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 Feao Fotuaika, 18 Jack Straker, 19 Ryan Smith, 20 Fraser McReight, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Jordan Petaia.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments