The first run for the DHL Stormers this season will be this weekend at Florid Park in Ravensmead when they will get a good work-out against four different at the Varsity Day.

They will test themsleves against Maties, UCT, CPUT and a DHL WP XV side.

It is a festival hosted by Tygerberg RFC and Dobson will use this as preparation for finalising his squad for this years Super Rugby which starts on the 31 January.

Gate will open at 09:30 on Saturday morning and the Stormers will play CPUT first at 13:30, followed directly by 20 minutes against DHL WP XV at 14h00.

The Varsity teams will then battle it out amongst themselves with a final 20-minute periods against UCT and Maties for the Stormers to end the day.

Entrance on the day at Florida Park will be R20, with parking also R20. The non-playing DHL Stormers will have a signing session at 14h30.

Dobson has announced the squad that will take part with some experience Super Rugby players lime Jean-Luc du Plessis, Godlen Masimla, Chad Solomon, Ernst van Rhyn, Ali Vermaak, Chris van Zyl and Leolin Zas, as well as former Springbok Hilton Lobberts who has returned to the Western Cape to play club rugby.

Coach Dobson said that this is a great opportunity for a number of players to make a good impression.

“We know that the Varsities will all be going flat-out, which is exactly what we need in our first pre-season game.

“We have a nice blend of experienced players in need of game-time and talented young players who will be keen to prove themselves, which should make for some good rugby.

“We are also looking forward to spending some time with the local community and starting 2020 in amongst our Faithful supporters,” he said.

DHL Stormers will also play against the Kings at Loerie Park in Knysna the 17 January before playing the Sharks at the Super Hero Sunday on the 19th.

DHL Stormers Varsity Day squad: Kwenzo Blose, Deon Carstens, Ben-Jason Dixon, Lucky Dlepu, Jean-Luc du Plessis, Schalk Erasmus, Brendon Esterhuizen, Neethling Fouche, Hannes Gous, Michal Haznar, Lyle Hendricks, Thys Kitshoff, David Kriel, Hilton Lobberts, Leon Lyons, Godlen Masimla, David Meihuizen, Matt Moore, Juan Mostert, Sihle Njezula, Sazi Sandi, Cornel Smit, Chad Solomon, Abner van Reenen, Ernst van Rhyn, Chris van Zyl, Ali Vermaak, Nama Xaba, Leolin Zas.

Facebook Comments