Home SANZAAR RUGBY NEWS Super Rugby Unlocked – Botha will lead Bulls against Griquas

Super Rugby Unlocked – Botha will lead Bulls against Griquas


In the absence of regular Bulls captain Duane Vermeulen, Jake White has given Arno Botha to opportunity to lead the Bulls in their first Super Rugby Unlocked match this weekend against Griquas at Loftus.

Vermeulen has a slight knee niggle from last weekend match at Newlands and as a precaution White did not want to risk the Springbok number eight.

The only change in the backline that played against the Sharks in the Super fan Super Saturday is David Kriel making his debut on the wing for the Bulls.

The rest of the backline have a great look with names like Gio Aplon, Cornal Hendricks, Travis Ismaiel and Morne Steyn.

In the pack we see Tim Agaba starting at number eight with Marco van Staden and Arno Botha. Jenkins and Nortje will pack down in the second row.

We also see Jacques van Rooyen making is debut in the front row with Springbok Trevor Nyakane on the other side and Els getting the number two jumper for this weekend clash.

“It’s been months of preparation and weeks of training with the players and management excited to get going. We have a mission, we’ve set high standards and now is the time for the Vodacom Bulls to stamp their authority on the this competition,” said Vodacom Bulls Director of Rugby, Jake White.

“The experience amongst our players allows us to implement our game plan quickly and with a solid foundation. I’m extremely excited for all the players making their debuts and looking forward to watching them grow,” he added.

Kick-off is 19:00 and the game will be broadcast live on SuperSport

Vodacom Bulls: 15. Gio Aplon, 14. Travis Ismaiel, 13. Stedman Gans, 12. Cornal Hendricks, 11. David Kriel, 10. Morné Steyn, 9. Ivan van Zyl, 8. Tim Agaba, 7. Arno Botha (C), 6. Marco van Staden, 5. Ruan Nortje, 4. Jason Jenkins, 3. Trevor Nyakane, 2. Corniel Els, 1. Jacques van Rooyen.

Replacements: 16. Johan Grobbelaar, 17. Lizo Gqoboka, 18. Mornay Smith, 19. Sintu Manjezi, 20. Elrigh Louw, 21. Embrose Papier, 22. Chris Smith, 23. Marco Jansen van Vuren

Non-playing subs: 24. Jan Uys, 25. Duane Vermeulen, 26. Jade Stighling.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x