Home SANZAAR RUGBY NEWS Super Rugby Unlocked Preview – Last round of matches as Bulls already...

Super Rugby Unlocked Preview – Last round of matches as Bulls already have the title in the one hand


Although the Super Rugby Unlocked trophy could have been handed over to the Bulls already, we still have two matches this weekend in the last round of the competition.

The Bulls will host the Pumas at Loftus and the Cheetahs will welcome Griquas to Bloemfontein, both matches to be played on Saturday 21 November.

With the Stormers and Sharks game cancelled the excitement of the last round was taken away with both teams sharing the points and unable to overtake the Bulls on the log.

Here is how the log look like now

Carling Currie Cup


It is going to be a great moment this weekend for Aimee Barrett-Theron, who will become the first female to hold the whistle in a senior premier game in South Africa.

Aimee has broken ground previously with being the first female to take charge of a Currie Cup First Division match, SA Rugby U21 and U20 Championship match, Varsity Cup match and SA Ruby U18 Craven Week match.

The Bulls will have Chris Smith at flyhalf this weekend with Swart providing backup on the bench. This is the only change Jake White made to his backline for Saturday.

Arno Botha will take the number seven jumper this weekend with Louw dropping out of the match day squad. Els will be at hooker with van Zyl on the bench.

Pumas coach, Stonehouse made a few changes to his side with van Schoor at hooker, Morgan Naude and Kramer with him in the front row while Maqondwana and Engelbrecht will start in the loose trio.

In the backline we see September replace Smuts at nine and Obi coming in for Neil Maritz.

Prediction: Bulls by 20 +

The teams:

Vodacom Bulls: 15 David Kriel, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 Cornal Hendricks, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Chris Smith, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Corniel Els, 1 Jacques van Rooyen.

Replacements: 16 Joe van Zyl, 17 Gerhard Steenekamp, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Sintu Manjezi, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Clinton Swart, 23 Marco Jansen van Vuren.

Phakisa Pumas: 15 Devon Williams, 14 Luther Obi, 13 Erich Cronje, 12 Wayne van der Bank, 11 Etienne Taljaard, 10 Theo Boshoff, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Willem Engelbrecht, 7 Phumzile Maqondwana, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Pieter Jansen van Vuren (captain), 4 Darrien Landsburg, 3 Ruan Kramer, 2 HP van Schoor, 1 Morgan Naude.

Replacements: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Ig Prinsloo, 18 Brandon Valentyn, 19 Daniel Maartens, 20 Ginter Smuts, 21 Ali Mgijima, 22 Tapiwa Mafura, 22 Liam Hendricks.

The Cheetahs need the win on Saturday against Griquas to stay in touch with the Stormers, Sharks and Bulls going into the Currie Cup.

They will end third on the log but will reduce the points with a win against Griquas.

The Cheetahs team for Saturday sees four changes with Rhyno Smith coming in on the right wing while Mnisi goes to the midfield and will be wearing the number thirteen jumper this weekend.

Hencus van Wyk is set to make his debut at prop inplace of Luan de Bruin. We also see Boan Venter and Charles Marais swaping places at loosehead.

Pokomela was ruled out with an injury which sees Aidon Davids coming in on the side of the scrum. The Cheetahs will be led on Saturday by Carl Wegner.

Griquas only change from their side that almost beat the Sharks last weekend comes at No 8 where Els comes in for Momsen.

On the bench we see  André Swarts coming in for utility back Ashlon Davids.

Prediction: Cheetahs by 13


Toyota Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Rhyno Smith, 13 Howard Mnisi, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Jeandré Rudolph, 7 Aidon Davis, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Carl Wegner (captain), 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Hencus van Wyk, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Boan Venter.

Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Cameron Dawson, 18 Khutha Mchunu, 19 Oupa Mohoje, 20 Chris Massyn, 21 Ruben de Haas, 22 Reinhardt Fortuin, 23 William Small-Smith.

Tafel Lager Griquas: 15 Masixole Banda, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Harlon Klaasen, 12 Johnathan Francke, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Zak Burger, 8 Carl Els, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Adré Smith, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 HJ Luus, 1 Mox Mxoli.

Replacements: Monde Hadebe, Andrew Beerwinkel, Madot Mabokela, Ewan Coetzee, CJ Velleman, Theo Maree, André Swarts, Daniel Kasende, Bandisa Ndlovu, Sibabalo Qoma, Ashlon Davids.


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments