Home FNB Varsity Cup Varsity Cup is back in 2021!

Varsity Cup is back in 2021!


It is Back! Rugby that Rocks will be back in 2021 with some exciting changes during this difficult time not just in the sports world but also in South Africa.

All the matches will be played in a bio-bubble at the University of Pretoria between the 4 April to the 24 May. That goes for the Varsity Shield as well.

All the teams will stay in the FNB Varsity Cup Village only leaving the village between the bubbles.

Both competitions will fall under the SA Rugby Covid-19 protocols, with both management and players being tested regularly.

“It’s been a long and hard journey to this point, but we’re finally going to see the best in young rugby talent again,” says Xhanti-Lomzi Nesi, Varsity Cup Tournament Manager.

“We might not be able to have in-stadium attendance, but we have a feast of rugby planned on SuperSport and a couple of surprises for fans. Varsity Cup has always been about innovation, pushing the boundaries and changing lives of those who form part of it. In 2021, we’re going to take this to the next level.”

The competition will be structured a bit different this year with nine rounds of the FNB Varsity Cup league stage will be split into three bubbles of three rounds each.

After rounds three and six the Varsity Cup teams will leave the Village with the Varsity Shield teams arriving. The Shield competition will tale place across two bubbles.

All matches will be played at Tuks Stadium, Tuks B-field and at Loftus on Mondays, Thursdays, Sundays and public holidays.

The top four teams on the log will qualify for the playoffs which will be played on the 21 May with the final on the 24 May.

The two top teams in the Shield will contest the final on the 9 May.

Great news for fans are that SuperSport will broadcast 34 of the 48 Varsity Cup matches live and all 22 of the Shield matches.

The Madibaz have been promoted to the the Varsity Cup with no team being relegated after last year tournament was cut short. This means that their will be 10 teams in the 2021 competition.

The FNB Varsity Shield will still have seven team in this years competition after Durban University of Technology will join the comeptition.

There will be no changes have been made to the rules and regulations for the 2021 season.

Find all the Fixtures HERE

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments