Home Springboks World Cup 2023 draw to take place on the 14 December 2020

World Cup 2023 draw to take place on the 14 December 2020


World Rugby has announced that the World Cup 2023 in France draw will take place on the 14 December this year.

The World Cup will be contested by 20 teams which 13 have automatically already qualified.

They are: The Campions South Africa and England, Wales, New Zealand, Japan, France, Australia, Ireland, Scotland, Italy, Argentina and Fiji.

The teams will be seeded based on World Rugby Rankings and positioned into three bands of four teams.

The remaining eight teams will come through the regional qualification process and will be allocated into nads four and five bases on relative strengths.

They consist of Americas 1, Americas 2, Europe 1, Europe 2, Africa 1, Oceania 1, Asia / Pacific 1 and the Final Qualifier Winner.

Important to know is that World Rugby Acknowledge the global COVID-19 impact on international rugby in 2020, with some teams not playing this year, and to be fair to all qualified teams, the Rugby World Cup Board has decided that the World Rugby rankings as of 1 January 2020 will be used to determine the five bands. This represents the fairest scenario given it was the last time that all teams were able to play.

The bands as of 1 January 2020 are:

  • Band 1: South Africa, New Zealand, England, Wales
  • Band 2: Ireland, Australia, France, Japan
  • Band 3: Scotland, Argentina, Fiji, Italy
  • Band 4: Oceania 1, Europe 1, Americas 1, Asia / Pacific 1
  • Band 5: Africa 1, Europe 2, Americas 2, Final Qualifier Winner


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments